FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

API
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cyborg16

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 7:13 am    Post subject: API Reply with quote

Hi,

I saw this project on the yage forum and here... and have some questions/comments. First I should say that I have no experience with networking, but some experience developing a game and some other software. Also I'm currently moving from C++ to D, so the code may not all make sense Confused

Presumably the low-level API works by passing a ready-made data block and an ID (although the ID could just be part of the data block) to the library and saying send:
Code:
void dnet.send(uint ID, void* data);

And how do you recieve data? A very inefficient way would be something like this:
Code:
void* dnet.wait(uint ID, uint timeout);   /// wait up to timeout millisec for packet ID, return void* to data or return null
A more efficient method might be to run the library in a separate thread which constantly waits for packets and give it a function pointer or delegate to a function to run when a packet is received. OK, so that isn't really different from using the first method in a separate thread, but accepting packets with any ID and letting the programmer decide what to do with them...

About the high-level API example posted here,
all this API seems to do is create packets from a few variables, then synchronise them, which doesn't seem all that useful to me. Something like this, which isn't all that different functionally, seems like a slightly more useful approach to the end programmer, although it's not much different (this is just an easier way to set data IMO):
Code:
struct Data {...}   // a container for data to be sent
data = new Data;  // initialise some data