FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MiniD Grammar, LR/LALR -> LL(1)

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BLS

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 3:47 pm    Post subject: MiniD Grammar, LR/LALR -> LL(1) Reply with quote

Hi Jarret, ahem.. it's me again
My problem is that I have to describe your grammar as LL(1) grammar in order to use the Netbeans generic lanuage framework. (also called Schliemann)

It looks your grammar is from a recursive descent parser, which won't work for me because these are usually LR / LALR. (I guess your's is LARL)
Can you confirm ? Do you see a chance to "strip down" your grammar to LL(1) as shown in :
http://platform.netbeans.org/articles/nbm_interview_caoyuan.html
(Erlang IDE support)

Please notice that I am a more DB developer than a language-designer Shocked (means keep your answere as simple as possible Smile )
Many thanks in advance, Bjoern
Short info, regarding the problem to implement Erlang support ...

The interesting things here are f.i.
# Remove left recursion. Here's a grammar rule with left recursion, where the first statement, 'add_expr' is on the left side of the equal sign, and is also the first element on the right:

add_expr -> add_expr add_op mult_expr;
add_expr -> mult_expr;

The NBS form is Extended BNF, so, you can just re-write the above to the following:

add_expr = mult_expr (add_op mult_expr)*;

# Merge left factors. LL(1) can only look ahead one step, so the following grammar rules will not work properly:

fun_expr -> "fun" <atom> "/" ;
fun_expr -> "fun" <atom> ":" <atom> "/" ;
fun_expr -> "fun" "->" exprs "end";

The parser cannot separate the first and second statement above, which both start with the same element ("fun" <atom>). To resolve this, rewrite it to the following:

fun_expr = "fun" <atom> [":" <atom>] "/" |
"fun" "->" exprs "end";