FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Memory leak?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
null_void

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 11:27 am    Post subject: Memory leak? Reply with quote

I'm a bit of a beginner at this, so bear with me. I've just started using D in general, and wanting to do some graphics work, I found derelict. Very convenient. Wink

So I whipped up a quick example for myself that renders nothing to a window, and it worked, making me happy. I happened to have the windows task manager open, and noticed that the memory usage was increasing without bound (though slowly).

Being a C++ programmer, I figured I had a memory leak somewhere, or hadn't turned on garbage collection, or something, even though everything I'd read seemed to indicate that this should be automatic.

So I started trying to narrow down what was causing it, and found that these two lines were responsible (or at least, seem to be).

Code:

glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
SDL_GL_SwapBuffers();

Disabling either one still results in continuous accumulated memory usage, but commenting both out fixes the problem. I figured maybe I was missing something, so I tried compiling and running the tutorial at http://dmedia.dprogramming.com/?n=Tutorials.SdlGlTutorial2, with the same results.

Has anyone else had this problem? Am I going crazy? My next step is to figure out how to do memory profiling with D/derelict, which is something I should get better at anyway.

Edit: It occurs to me that even if there is a memory leak, it may have everything to do with SDL and nothing to do with Derelict. Nonetheless, if anyone knows something about this...
Cyborg16

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote