FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Creating a COM server with Juno

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Numpsy

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:52 pm    Post subject: Creating a COM server with Juno Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm new to D and have been having a play with creating a COM server using Juno (0.5.1, with D 1.046), and i've had a couple of problems.

The first thing i tried was to build the example from the juno.com.server docs, using a .def file to export the COM functions (DllRegisterServer etc), and that failed to link because the exported functions couldn't be found. I got it to build by adding some wrapper functions that call the 'real' ones defined by the Export mixin, but i'm wondering if it should work without that?

After that i ran into a problem where attempts to create an instance of the COM object failed with an E_POINTER error.
I think that's down to the
ppvObject = null;
in ClassFactory.CreateInstance (in juno/com/server.d). Changing it to
*ppvObject = null;
allows the object to be created and called.
Numpsy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a couple of other things:

When i try to unregister the dll, i get a failure because it can't delete the registry keys. changing unregisterCoClass() from

scope clsidKey = RegistryKey.classesRoot.openSubKey("CLSID");

to

scope clsidKey = RegistryKey.classesRoot.openSubKey("CLSID", true);

allows it to succeed.

I also tried using D2 (2.031), and got a build failure:

juno\com\server.d(248): Error: function juno.com.core.GUID.toString () does not match parameter types (immutable(char)[])
juno\com\server.d(248): Error: toString can only be called on a mutable object, not const(GUID)

Marking the GUID.toString function as const allows it to compile.
jcc7