FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

dmd with Gentoo linux not working

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jicman



Joined: 22 Dec 2004
Posts: 298
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:08 am    Post subject: dmd with Gentoo linux not working Reply with quote

I am getting the error message:

mulo 01:02:26-> dmd
-bash: /h/jicman/bin/dmd: cannot execute binary file

and it's setup as an executable:

mulo 01:02:49-> ls -l bin/dmd
-rwxr-xr-x 1 jicman users 1029633 Dec 14 01:03 bin/dmd*

Has any one successfully run dmd from linux? If so, any tricks to get it to work? I followed the instructions and everything seems ok, but I don't think the binary file is ok for Gentoo.

thanks.

josé
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larsivi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 453
Location: Trondheim, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works for me on Gentoo... Didn't do anything special, I think.

Btw, I don't think this is the right group for the question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJR



Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 1104

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, this topic should probably be moved to "General."

To answer the question. I've been running dmd under x86-based Gentoo Linux for quite some time. Are you using x86-based Gentoo? The only reason I can think that it doesn't work out of the box is if you are trying to run dmd on a powerpc based Gentoo (or some other cpu).

Oh wait a minute....

It looks like you are trying to run dmd from the command prompt without specifing the full pathname. On linux systems, unless the current path has been entered into the PATH environment variable, you can't run an executable even if you are currently in it's directory. Perhaps that's your problem?

Thus:
Code:
mulo 01:02:26-> dmd


will not work, while:

Code:
mulo 01:02:26-> ./dmd


should work just fine

I hope that helps.

- John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJR



Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 1104

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On further investigation. What I said above doesn't seem to apply to your problem. The error message you show tends to indicate that dmd is found, but Bash doesn't know what to do with the executable. Oh well....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlos



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Canyon, TX

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe what you need to do is "chmod ugo+x dmd". Ditto for the other executables in dmd/bin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jcc7



Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 657
Location: Muskogee, OK, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JJR wrote:
Yes, this topic should probably be moved to "General."
I think you're right, so I moved it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
andersRson



Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try using the ebuilds, find them in bugzilla at http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=48136, see the last attachment.
If you don't know how to use ebuilds not in portage, do it like this:
*Create a directory to use as your portage overlay directory. In this you put ebuild files that is not in official portage for some reason. It should have the same structure as the /usr/portage directory, but only for the files that you actually want to be there. Like the ebuilds for gdc and phobos, for instance.
add the line PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/path/to/your/directory" to /etc/make.conf.
*Create the directories 'dev-lang/gdc' and 'dev-libs/phobos' in the overlay directory and copy the files from bugzilla into the respective directory.
*do
#ebuild dev-lang/gdc/gdc-0.9.ebuild digest
and
#ebuild dev-libs/phobos/phobos-0.9.ebuild digest
in the overlay directory to let portage check them out.
Now, you should be able to emerge them as usual.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Workaphobia



Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you need to do anything funky to get it to work, just try adding it to your $PATH variable.
export PATH=$PATH:/pathtodmdhere
I'm not exactly sure what the difference is between export and set, but I think that's the one I see used for this sort of thing.

Without changing $PATH, I think using the syntax ./dmd worked for me when I wanted to run an executable.
_________________
"Nifty News Fifty: When news breaks, we give you the pieces."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> General All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group