FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[bug?] No Recompile When Using Different Build Options

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Build
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Abscissa



Joined: 23 Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Location: Cleveland, OH, US

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 8:30 am    Post subject: [bug?] No Recompile When Using Different Build Options Reply with quote

If I do a release build on a file and then try to do a debug build (or vice versa) then build thinks that the program is already up-to-date and won't build the new version. This also happens when I add/change/remove a version parameter. I think this is because it sees that the object files and output file exist and that the source files haven't changed.

Since debug/release/version() can all cause different parts of the code to be either compiled or omitted, using a different debug/release/version() setting should prompt a recompile of any affected source.

This is a problem in one of my projects, since I have to make sure to delete the object files anytime I build something different or else I get strange effects from the wrong versions of various object files being linked together. I know I could workaround this by using the -cleanup flag every time I compile, but that would be somewhat of a kludge and present its own drawbacks.

I think build should automatically recompile when using a different debug/release/version(). Although later on, it might be nice if build could handle this the way A-A-P does, by placing all intermediate files in a separate subdirectory, with the subdirectory's name being based on the build options like "build-nt-debug", "build-nt-release-console", "build-linux-debug-gtk", etc. (http://www.a-a-p.org/exec/tutor-variant.html)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Parnell



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand the issue, and I've been thinking about this earlier. I'm not yet decided on what to do about it yet. In the meantime, you can do either or both these ..

The -full switch to force everything to get recompiled.

The -T<name> switch to give an alternate name to the build target. Eg.

build myapp -Tdebugapp

build myapp -Tfinalapp -nounittest -release
_________________
--
Derek
skype name: derek.j.parnell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Build All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group