FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

-version and gdc

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Build
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Carlos



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Canyon, TX

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2005 9:30 am    Post subject: -version and gdc Reply with quote

Using "build <whatever> -version=<something>" with gdc makes the compilation process not to work because build is passing "-version" to gdc, when it should be "-fversion". I haven't tried other flags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Derek Parnell



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Re: -version and gdc Reply with quote

Carlos wrote:
Using "build <whatever> -version=<something>" with gdc makes the compilation process not to work because build is passing "-version" to gdc, when it should be "-fversion". I haven't tried other flags.

That was a problem with a early edition of Build but its been fixed for awhile now. What version of Build are you running? Use the -info switch to display that.
_________________
--
Derek
skype name: derek.j.parnell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlos



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Canyon, TX

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.06. I'll try 2.07 later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Derek Parnell



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carlos wrote:
2.06. I'll try 2.07 later.

To be more specific, it passes "-fversion=" when Build is compiled with the version is set to "GNU" which is what I was told is automatically set when using gdc. I can't test that here.
_________________
--
Derek
skype name: derek.j.parnell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlos



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Canyon, TX

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's what I'm getting (build 2.07, gdc 0.11):

Code:
build test.d -version=uafd -V
...
Compiling with ..........
-version=uafd -fversion=Posix std/stdio.o test.o -o test
...
gdc: unrecognized option `-version=uafd'


Now, you're gonna tell me "then use -version because gdc won't recognize it". Yes, I agree, but I just thought maybe build could do something here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Derek Parnell



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carlos wrote:
Here's what I'm getting (build 2.07, gdc 0.11):

Code:
build test.d -version=uafd -V
...
Compiling with ..........
-version=uafd -fversion=Posix std/stdio.o test.o -o test
...
gdc: unrecognized option `-version=uafd'


Now, you're gonna tell me "then use -version because gdc won't recognize it". Yes, I agree, but I just thought maybe build could do something here.

Ah! Now I get it.

It seems that what you are asking for is that if the Build tool gets either "-version..." or "-fversion=..." on its command line, it will both recognise it as a 'Version' request for the compiler and output it on the command line in the correct format for the environment it is running in, namely "-fversion..." for GNU (gdc) and "-version..." for Windows.

A very reasonable request. I'll get on to that.
_________________
--
Derek
skype name: derek.j.parnell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlos



Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Canyon, TX

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was recently "accused" of giving information not totally at once but just a little bit at a time. Might've been that this time too. Anyway, I'm glad you think it's reasonable. I was starting to think it wasn't. Now I'll stop thinking or I'll try to talk you out of it... Hehe...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Derek Parnell



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carlos wrote:
I was recently "accused" of giving information not totally at once but just a little bit at a time. Might've been that this time too. Anyway, I'm glad you think it's reasonable. I was starting to think it wasn't. Now I'll stop thinking or I'll try to talk you out of it... Hehe...

You'll be happy to know that this turned out to be incredibly easy to fix.

It also applies to the use of the "-debug" switch too.
_________________
--
Derek
skype name: derek.j.parnell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Build All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group